Some important facts to know about Trilogy … Trilogy is a New Zealand made brand and their products, which are certified natural cosmetics, are made in New Zealand. They offer a range of skincare products from lip balm to age recovery eye concentrate. They also sell “Starter Sets” for those wanting to try out some skincare products specifically for their own skin type. Check out Trilogy here!

 2016-04-20 18.33.07

I’ve been seeing mist toners all over social media lately so receiving this in the NZ Brands Beauty Box from Best Beauty Box Ever was exciting. I’ve used a mist toner before but that was well over 10 years ago. This is certainly an upgrade to that $2 one!

The bottle is solid frosted amber glass with your typical black sprayer capped off with a clear lid. It’s a 100ml bottle so I can hold it quite comfortably and I find it easy to use. I like that you can decide how much product you want to spray on your face by using different pressures on the sprayer – less or more, the product still flows out easily. The directions say to hold it at least 30cm from your face. I find that I get the right amount of product at about 15-20cm from my face.

 20160420_165847-1

The first spray gave me the tiniest of frights but you quickly get used to the refreshing feel it gives your skin. This product claims to hydrate, tone and refresh. I’ve used toner for years and still don’t quite understand exactly what it does (yes, I know, it maintains your ph balance – what does that mean? Um let’s get into that another time!). I love the refreshing feel on my skin that this gives. I like to use it straight after cleansing and after spraying, it will sit on the surface of my skin for at least 30 seconds. Before it completely absorbs I lock the moisture in with my rosehip oil or moisturiser. I find that if I don’t do that, after absorption, my skin feels exactly the same as after a cleanse.

If you’ve followed me for a while you’ll know that I have dry skin. My main question is, is this beneficial for dry skin? The packaging states “All Skin Types”. In my personal experience, anything that says “All skin types” has never catered to my dry skin. Unfortunately this is another one that doesn’t “hydrate” to the extent I need.

 20160420_170007-1

This product is full of natural oils like Aloe Vera, Geranium, Rose Flower and Lavender, plus some components of essential oils. These all play a part in the pleasant scent this gives off. It doesn’t smell overpowering – but remember that this is a natural skincare product so do expect that smell that is associated with natural products – this one is not as strong though.

 20160420_170022-1

Overall, this is a pleasant, refreshing toner that uplifts your senses. This is perfect to spritz on your face on a warm day and will make you feel cooler instantly. This has replaced my usual toner and I now use it for that aspect. I also use it to refresh my skin in the afternoon. I don’t use it for the purpose of hydration. I’m curious to know if this works better on normal or oily skin.

Feel free to let me know if you’ve tried this product and what your thoughts are. Thanks for reading lovelies, until next time xx

*Trilogy Hydrating Mist Toner, 100ml, RRP $29.90

