2017!  I’ve heard so many people state that 2017 is THEIR year.  I told myself that 2017 was going to be my year too! In order to achieve this I’m making small changes.  Everyone will have their own personal goals that they want to achieve but I want to solely focus on my health and wellbeing.  It’s been 3 months now since I told myself this so I thought now was a good time to post about the start of my beginning.

“Health” covers a very broad area of life – happiness, fitness, mentality, the list goes on.  The last 3 months I have been changing what I eat and changing the way I exercise.  There are other areas of my health and wellbeing that I want to take control of this year too but I won’t divulge into that aspect just yet.

img_20170326_155024_010.jpg

As years have gone on, I’ve repeatedly told myself that “I need to change”.  I look back at the multiple times of disappointment and cringe.  I was setting myself up for failure from the beginning by setting my standards too high.  I’ve made a decision to “Make Small Changes”.  My small changes may seem extremely small to you, but however small they are I am content with the fact that a small change is better than no change.

My first small change – Wine – it seems to be all women want after a long day!  Not me, I want COKE! I have had a massive addiction to coke for the last 5 years, it’s actually embarrassing.  On average I was drinking almost 3 litres a week.  If I wasn’t drinking juice or tea, I was reaching for coke….my water intake was non-existent.  On 1 January 2017 I made a choice to cut out any form of fizzy from my daily life for 3months. Today marks the end of 3 months and I can proudly state that I have not had one single drop of fizzy since the start.  My body feels amazing from it and water is now my main source of hydration, thus I’ve decided to carry on with my decision to cut fizzy out.

20170401_163813.jpg

My second small change – As mentioned above, exercise is on my “want to change” list.  I used to tell instruct myself to “walk an hour on the treadmill every day”.  After a few days I just couldn’t, it became a chore and I had no motivation.  I have done no form of exercise for over 5 years.  If walking for half an hour once a month is worth mentioning then ok, I’ve done that.  But that’s where it stops.  What I do enjoy, oddly, is walking up stairs. My legs burn but the sense of achievement when I get to the top is an amazing feeling.  My goal is to go up without stopping and then eventually run up without stopping.  It feels great to set small goals and reach those, rather than set goals that are too big and give up at the beginning because it seems too hard.

img_20170211_105507_803.jpg

My 2017 journey has begun and already I feel good and I am really looking forward to the rest of MY year!  I would love to share my experiences with you so please look out for more posts. I’d also love to hear about your goals/wishes for 2017, please leave a comment and let me know what they are. Thanks for reading xx

 

